March Brain Dump.

My mind has been all over the place lately. Between traveling for work, keeping sane in site, enjoying time with friends, cooking,endless  bus trips, English group, and starting to think about post-PC life, it’s been a bit crazy. While I’ve had a ton of ideas of quality blog posts to put up, it just hasn’t happened.

So, welcome to the brain dump, aka, things that have been grabbing my interest, bringing me encouragement, and straight up challenging me. And some pictures, because, well, it’s me.

Quincinera Weekend 262 (800x533)

I’m quickly becoming a tortilla-making pro and find that I rather enjoy spending hours making them. Even better, it is an amazing time to chat with local women who have been patient enough to teach me. I’m planning on buying a ‘comal’ to bring back to the States so I can make legit tortillas.

Sugarcane & Beach Afternoon 027 (800x535)

Trips to the beach. Needed. Enough said.

Business Incubator 003 (800x533)

School is back in full force. Here are a couple fotos of my students presenting their work and the picture below shows a pretty normal day in the big high school here – hectic-ness.

Business Incubator 016 (800x533)

Earthquakes! We are still shaking and rattling and rolling here. Looks like the Pacific coast has been pretty active, and I just happen to live in the community where they epicenters have been here in Nicaragua. Keeping us on our toes, and thankfully, nothing hugely serious and no injuries or tsunamis. Much to be thankful for.

About two weeks ago I got to help put on a small business incubator, where we brought to together 20+ business owners from all around the country to spend three days in Granada looking at ways they can improve their businesses. I would consider this one of my favorite events I have gotten to help plan. Amazing to sit with business owners, here their stories, ask questions, and help brainstorm ways they could try doing things differently.

Business Incubator 116 (800x533)

The above picture is of me giving a presentation on human resources, and below is an outdoor hallway in the hotel we stayed at. I’m kind of in love with the pots, and the volcano in the background doesn’t hurt anything either.

Business Incubator 284 (533x800)

Group foto with our business owners and leadership team (minus me, I was taking the picture!).

Business Incubator 380 (800x501)

Monkey feet on a recent outing the zoo – yes, Nicaragua has a zoo. And it is pretty well done.

March 2014 074 (565x800)

Thinking of my sweet state back home and sending love to these communities: http://www.komonews.com/news/local/Number-of-missing-from-mudslide-drops-to-30-253104791.html

This bridge. Hello, beautiful.

March 2014 106 (800x533)

A recent day trip to Leon to go volcano-boarding didn’t quite pan out, so I spend the morning taking myself on a photography and good coffee date. Not bad at all. And it meant finding this gem of a wall.

March 2014 136 (460x800)

And to end, this quote, from a blog I read:

“Instead of guilt, gratitude.  Every sip of cold water, every good night kiss, every moment of this very precious life.  It’s vital to recognize that our culture is well beyond the boundaries of comfort, having become guilty of lavish excess, and surely guilty of increasing injustice too.  Gratitude though, is for the fact that there no bombs on the roadside, that people gather in public places to express their views, mostly without fear of reprisal, that there’s food on the table and the possibility of friendship, love, education.  It’s far from perfect, but there’s much for which we can be grateful.  This is a starting point to living here well.”

~ Richard Dahlstrom, blog ~

One thought on “March Brain Dump.

Leave a Reply

